DUI and DWI Defense

DUI and DWI Defense

For the past 19 years, Attorney Kevin Hagan has been successfully defending clients in all types of criminal cases throughout Rhode Island and Massachusetts. Attorney Hagan’s extensive experience as a Newport County Prosecutor, Rhode Island Special Assistant Attorney General, and as a private criminal defense attorney have provided him with the skills necessary to successfully litigate criminal cases at the trial level.

If you have been charged with a Rhode Island DUI or DWI, Attorney Hagan will draw on his many years of Rhode Island criminal law experience to help counsel you through every stage of the Rhode Island criminal process and work tirelessly to try to achieve the best possible outcome for you.

Visit RI DUI Pages by Town

Jamestown, RI DUI, DWI, & OWI

Middletown, RI DUI, DWI, & OWI

Portsmouth, RI Criminal – DUI Defense

Tiverton, RI Criminal and DUI Defense

If you have been arrested and need a competent and experienced RI criminal defense attorney to immediately take your case on and defend you, contact Rhode Island DUI Attorney Kevin O. Hagan today for a Free Consultation – 401-487-8691

For the past 19 years, Attorney Kevin Hagan has been successfully defending clients in all types of DUI cases, breathalyzer refusal cases, and other criminal cases throughout Rhode Island and Massachusetts. Attorney Hagan’s extensive experience as a Newport County Prosecutor, Rhode Island Special Assistant Attorney General, and as a private DUI lawyer and criminal defense attorney have provided him with the skills necessary to successfully litigate criminal cases at the trial level.

If you have been charged with DUI, DWI, or breathalyzer refusal in Rhode Island, Attorney Hagan will draw on his many years of Rhode Island DUI and criminal law experience to help counsel you through every stage of the Rhode Island criminal process and work tirelessly to try to achieve the best possible outcome for you.

Contact

MAIN OFFICE
105 Memorial Blvd. West Newport, RI 02840
E-MAIL
kevin@kevinhaganlaw.com
TELEPHONE
401-487-8691
WORKING HOURS
Mon-Sun: 8am – 8pm

Frequently Asked Questions

FIRST OFFENSE RI DUI Penalties

If you refuse to take the breath test, your license MAY be suspended for 6 months, and you face other refusal penalties.

RI DUI/OUI Penalties – First Offense Rhode Island Drunk Driving/DUI/OUI Penalties – BAC .08-.10 (over 21)

– Fine $100-$300
– Suspended license for one to six months, up to one year in jail, and a $50 reinstatement fee
– At the discretion of the court, serve 10-60 hours of community service
– Face a Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee) conducted by the Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI) and possible enrollment in a driving school and/or an alcohol treatment program

RI DUI/OUI Penalties – First Offense with a BAC between .10-.15

– Fine $100-$400
– One year in jail or 10-60 hours of community service
– Suspended license 3-12 months

RI DUI/OUI Penalties – First Offense with a BAC of .15 or Higher

– Fine $500
– One year in jail or 20-60 hours of community service
– Suspended license 3-18 months
– Mandatory participation in a drunken driving course and/or alcohol/drug treatment program.

First Offense Civil Charge of Refusing to take a Breathalyzer/BAC Test – (Relating to a RI DUI/OUI/Drunk Driving Charge)

– Suspended license six months (Mandatory Minimum) to one year
– Fine $200-$500
– Community Service for 10-60 hours
– Highway Safety Assessment Fee ($500)
– Possible enrollment in a driving school and/or an alcohol treatment program
– Pay a $200 fee to support the Department of Health chemical testing program

RI DUI/OUI Penalties – First Offense – 18-21 Years Old with a BAC of .02 or Higher

– Up to 30 hours of community service
– $250 Fine
– License suspended for 3 months, after attending a drunk driving/DWI class and enrollment in an alcohol treatment education program

RI DUI/OUI Penalties – First Offense – 18 or Younger with a BAC of .02 or Higher

– 10-60 hours of Community Service
– License suspended for 6-18 months
– Must enroll in a DWI course and/or an alcohol treatment or education program
– At the judge’s discretion a possible highway assessment fine of up to $500
– If you are facing a Second Offense, please call me at 401-487-8691 for more info.

SECOND (2ND) OFFENSE Rhode Island Drunk Driving/DUI/OUI Penalties (over 21)

RI DUI/OUI Penalties – Second Offense (within Five Years) – BAC between .08-.15%

– Fine $400
– Suspended license for up to two years
– Minimum 10 days to one year in jail
– Alcohol or drug treatment
– Possible installation of an ignition interlock system for up to two years

RI DUI/OUI Penalties – Second Offense (within Five Years) – BAC of .15% or Higher

– $1,000 Fine
– Jail for 6-12 months
– Suspended license for two years

Second Offense Civil Charge of Breathalyzer Test Refusal (within 5 years) on a DUI/OUI Arrest

– $600-$1000 Fine
– Suspended license 1-2 years
– 60-100 hours of community service
– Mandatory alcohol or drug treatment
– Face a Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee) conducted by the Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI) and possible enrollment in a driving school and/or an alcohol treatment program
– Pay a $200 fee to support the department of health’s chemical testing programs

RI DUI/OUI Penalties – Second Offense (18 or Younger) with a BAC of .02 or Higher

– $250 Fine in addition to a $300 highway assessment fee
– Up to 60 hours of community service
– Suspended license 3-6 months
– Must enroll in a course on DWI and in an alcohol treatment program

RI DUI/OUI Penalties – Second Offense (18 or Younger) with a BAC of .02 or Higher

– Suspended license until age 21
– At the judge’s discretion, a fine of up to $500 and a one year sentence in the Rhode Island Training School (juvenile correctional facility)
– If you are facing a Third Offense, please call 401-487-8691 for more info.

Third (3rd) Offense Rhode Island Drunk Driving/DUI/OUI Penalties (over 21)

RI Penalties – Third (3rd) Offense DUI/OUI, w/BAC between .08-.15%

– Felony
– Mandatory $400 fine
– One to three years in jail
– Two to three years license suspension
– Alcohol or drug treatment
– Ignition interlock device for up to two years after sentence is completed

RI Penalties – Third (3rd) Offense DUI/OUI, w/BAC between .15% or Higher

– Fines $1,000-$5,000
– Jail for 3-5 years
– Suspended license for three years
– At the discretion of the judge the violator’s vehicle may be seized and sold by the state

Third (3rd) Offense Civil Charge of Breathalyzer Test Refusal (within 5 years) on a DUI/OUI Arrest

– Fined $800-$1,000
– Up to one year in jail
– License suspended 2-5 years
– Mandatory 100 hours of community service
– Alcohol or drug treatment
– Hearing to determine whether license may be reinstated
– Face a Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee) conducted by the Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI) and possible enrollment in a driving school and/or an alcohol treatment program
– Pay a $200 fee to support the department of health’s chemical testing programs

Contact DUI and DWI DefenseCall us today, e-mail us or leave a message

Get a free callback

    CASE STUDIESSearch Case Studies

    https://kevinhaganlawgroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/logo_white_small_05.png
    105 Memorial Blvd. West Newport, RI 02840
    401-487-8691
    kevin@kevinhaganlaw.com

    Follow us:

    FREE CONSULTATION

    Kevin O. Hagan, Esq.
    Attorney

    Copyright © kevinhaganlawgroup.com 2020